Kerala Council for Historical Research [KCHR] is an autonomous institution committed to scientific research in history and social sciences. Funded by the Ministry of Higher Education, Government of Kerala, KCHR is a recognised research centre of the University of Kerala.

         KCHR is located at Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala State, India , in the multi-purpose cultural complex Vyloppilly Samskrithi Bhavan, at Nalanda.  It is housed in the blocks dedicated to the memory of pioneering researchers of Kerala history, Sri.K.P.Padmanabha Menon and Prof. Elamkulam Kunjan Pillai.

         KCHR offers doctoral, post-doctoral and internship programmes and short term courses in social theory, research methods, epigraphy, palaeography and numismatics. Research, publication, documentation, training and co-ordination are the major domains of KCHR activities.

         KCHR has a well-equipped library and research resource centre with a fairly large collection of books on Kerala history and society.KCHR publications include twenty-seven volumes on Kerala society that are of vital research significance.

         KCHR has a three tier organizational set up with a Patrons Council, Advisory Council and Executive Council.

         The Chairman of KCHR is Prof. K.N.Panikkar, former Professor and Dean, School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and former Vice-Chancellor, Sree Sankaracharya University, Kalady. The Director is Prof. P.J. Cherian, former State Editor, Gazetteers Department and Professor of History, Union Christian College, Alwaye. The Executive Council of KCHR has nine distinguished social scientists along with the Principal Secretaries of the Departments of Culture and Finance, Government of Kerala and the Directors of the State Archaeology and Archives Departments, Government of Kerala.

Aims and Objectives
  • To form a forum of professional historians to promote research and exchange of ideas on history;
  • To create a comprehensive worldwide database of research on Kerala History;
  • To publish source materials and studies to further historical research;
  • To set up a library and resource centre with the latest facilities;
  • To identify important research areas and initiate and encourage research in those areas;
  • To organise and sponsor seminars, workshops and conferences for the promotion and dissemination of historical knowledge;
  • To institute and administer fellowships, scholarships and sponsorships on historical research;
  • To provide professional advice and direction for the proper conservation of archival materials and archaeological artefacts as a nodal agency of the State Archives Department and the Archaeology Department;
  • To facilitate exchange programmes for teachers and scholars of history to provide exposure to advanced scholarly practices;
  • To attempt to historicise areas like science, technology, industry, music, media etc. conventionally held to be beyond the range of historical analysis;
  • To assist and aidthe Education Department in restructuring history curricula and syllabi, so as to instil the critical component in teaching and learning practices;
  • To restore local history to its rightful position and help set up local museums and archives;
  • To develop popular and non-reductive modes of historical writing;
  • To undertake the publication of a research journal on Kerala History;
  • To optimally utilise the electronic media and information technology in the dissemination of historical knowledge worldwide;
  • To undertake projects entrusted by the Government.

Organisational Structure

Patrons Council

  • Governor of Kerala [Chief Patron]
  • Chief Minister, Government of Kerala
  • Minister of Cultural Affairs, Government of Kerala
  • Speaker, Kerala Legislative Assembly
  • Leader of Opposition, Kerala Legislative Assembly
  • Chief Secretary, Government of Kerala

Advisory Council

  •    Executive Council Members
  •   Three Senior historians or social scientists
  •   Four Members of the Legislative Assembly
  •   Two Members of the Parliament
  •   President of a District Panchayath
  •   Chairpersons of two Municipal Councils
  •   Presidents of six Grama Panchayath

Executive Council

  • Chairman, Kerala Council for Historical Research
  • Nine Professional Historians
  • Vice Chancellor, University of Kerala
  • Secretary, Ministry of Cultural Affairs, Government of Kerala
  • Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Government of Kerala
  • Director, Archaeology Department, Government of Kerala
  • Director, Archives Department, Government of Kerala
  • Director, Kerala Council for Historical Research